12 Less Things

Following the initial flurry of decluttering activity the process of simplifying has become more gradual, slower and more considered.

The things that remain survived the first few waves of frenzy so they often take more thought. But I’m pleased to say that decluttering is now a part of my everyday, items are assessed and their worth is given a valuation as I get on with my daily life.

Natural decluttering feels much more peaceful that the rounds of decluttering that kick started my journey, and I truly enjoy it.

Since my last decluttering update, we’ve now removed a further 12 things from our lives, as follows.

2 spare pillows – the number of pillows in our house far outnumbered the amount needed for the two double beds we have.

1 set of eyelash curlers – Christmas left me with duplicates here.

2 pairs of shoes – 1 pair that I never wear and another that pained me to relinquish but their state of disrepair was finally too much.

2 blouses – 1 recent impulse buy that I didn’t like wearing and 1 white blouse that has finally lost it’s glorious bright whiteness despite all my best efforts.

1 pair of underwear – I’m sure this stuff breeds.

1 skirt – another recent impulse buy of poor quality which had already frayed and ripped along the bottom seam.

1 scarf – a Christmas gift.

2 hats Рmore Christmas gifts, one from this year and one from last year.

As with everything I decluttered each item is either gifted to someone else, donated or recycled or in the case of items that can’t fit any of those categories it gets thrown away – but I would urge anyone embarking on a declutter mission to avoid landfill wherever you can!

Ultimately as I continue with mindful decluttering I am become more conscious to not be restricted because an item is a gift or sentimental, items don’t hold memories, we do. Plus the person that gifted you an item wouldn’t want it to be a burden, so let it go rather than hold onto something that makes you unhappy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

