The Mins Game

I am taking a quick break from my uni reading of The Turkish Embassy Letters by Lady Mary Wortley Montagu as it’s been a while since I posted to this blog and I’m getting twitchy.

Plus it doesn’t help when your brain keeps getting distracted by the thoughts you want to share!

1

I wanted to pop in to say – I decided to play #TheMinsGame !!! It feels like a win for my move to minimalism since when I first heard of it a few weeks back I thought there was no way I could ever possibly play.

Basically you start the game at the beginning of a new month and on the 1st of the month you remove one item, 2nd day two items, 3rd day three items. And so on until the end of the month. Seeing as November has 30 days this will mean that by the end of the month, if successful, I should have removed 465 items from my home (I hope my maths is right there…!).

Sheesh.

It’s scary, but I’m ever so excited.

You can find out more about it over at The Minimalists website. A blog you should 100% read back to front if you haven’t already!

For week one I won’t give a daily update here on the blog as the numbers are still quite small, but I’ll do a round up at the end of the week, probably post more regularly from week 2 onwards, and then summarise at the end.

I’ll take photos wherever I remember, sometimes I think it’s helpful to see what other people are giving away as it will hopefully help you to reevaluate what’s important to you and which possessions you might also be able to part with – remembering we are all different of course.

Also just a heads up – I’m expecting clothing, craft supplies and DIY materials will feature quite heavily throughout the month.

Let’s see how far I get!

3 thoughts on “The Mins Game

Leave a Reply

