Currently Reading

Just a quick one today.

I thought I’d share with you what I’m currently reading.

Currently Reading…

  • George Orwell’s 1984 – A classic, and one that I have always wanted to read. For some reason I thought it was a long essay and never realised it was a work of fiction. I’m loving it but haven’t managed to power through at my usual rate due to uni reading taking over my life these last few weeks.
  • ‘Us’ by David Nicholls – I am about halfway through this one but haven’t picked it up in a while. I haven’t really been gripped by the storyline and don’t feel a great sense of urgency to get back to it. It’s one that’s quite easy reading so I don’t feel too anxious to be waiting a while before I pick up where I left off. It’s more of a romantic type novel which isn’t really my thing anyway though so it may just be a bad fit, everyone I know that had read this loved it.
  • ‘Look Who’s Back’ by Timur Vermes – I probably made it about a third of the way through this one before I lost interest. The premise of the book is – potentially risky – that Hitler is somehow transported through time and lands in the modern age of social media and a female leader and becomes a YouTube sensation. It’s supposed to be funny, I haven’t really given it a fair chance but so far I think the comedic value has potentially been lost when translated from German. I’d say the plot immediately puts some people off but I wanted to give it a shot as it has some great reviews.
  • ‘Chav’s’ by Owen Jones – This was really interesting – though again still only halfway through. I think the great thing about this book (for me especially) is that you can dip in and out and read chapters here and there. It’s obviously left wing, but I think everyone could read this and enjoy the debate it raises. It definitely provokes strong feelings, I think you have to approach it with a critical eye and be prepared to challenge your own beliefs but also don’t be afraid to disagree with the book either.
  • ‘The God Delusion’ by Richard Dawkins – I started reading this and then told myself off and made myself put it down and get on with uni work. I really want to read it though!! As a believer in a God, but a sceptic in terms of formal religion/religious texts, I think it’s important to be open to other’s opinions on the matter and you can’t get many more opinionated atheists than Dawkins! Really looking forward to this one, but it’s second in line to 1984.

Anything I should add to the ever growing list?

Leave a Reply

